Blog Posts · Knitting

OWL Planning

Over on Ravelry there is a group known as the HPKCHC (Harry Potter Knit and Crochet House Cup). This group runs classes which are basically themed knitting prompts. The year is divided into terms (just like school) and there are different kinds of prompts/classes you can do to earn points for your house.

This coming term I am planning on completing an OWL. This is a project that requires 2-3 months of continuous crafting effort. My plan is to knit a sweater for myself. The pattern that I am going to use is Hearthstone by Ysolda Teague. I love this pattern because it is very simple but has beautiful details. Since I will likely have a few Uni commitments during the time that I’m planning on making this it should be a challenge but still hopefully achievable.

HOMS-hearthstone-05a_medium2

The wool I have to knit this in is a lovely dark jade green from Skeinz. It is their Southlander yarn which is a little scratchy but should be fine for wearing over a long sleeved top and could even soften up after a bit of wear.

sl_20java_20br_medium

I thought the combo was great and I would love to have a nice new hand-knit sweater to wear and layer with all my other knits. I’m having to stop myself from starting right now because term doesn’t start till next month. I’ll just have to try and satisfy myself by swatching and writing up my proposal for it instead. So stay tuned for swatching, blocking and measuring excitement in the near future ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

